How to delete your Instagram account to focus on things that matter

spot_img

Source

Quit smoking? Sure. But quit Instagram? That might take some serious discipline. We’re so used to strolling through the Instagram feed at every resting minute to see what our friends are up to, and with Instagram Reels, we can also discover new creators in short-format videos. 

However, with all the new changes to Instagram, in some ways, it is no longer the same app we have come to love since it was launched in 2010. You’re not alone if you hate the new features. Instagram’s new changes have already alienated many of their loyal users

So now, you want to delete Instagram? After all, too much browsing through Instagram makes us feel worse sometimes. Or, you might be thinking of using your data connection and screentime in productive ways, such as learning new skills, or exercising to a workout video on YouTube. 

Really done with Instagram? Let’s read on about how to start deleting your Instagram account. 

How to delete Instagram account temporarily

Fancy taking a break from Instagram but still holding out for a certain point in the (not so distant) future where you can login to your account again to catch up on your friends’ life moments? You can actually delete your Instagram account temporarily. When you temporarily delete or deactivate your account, it’s just as if your profile, photos, comments and likes are all in hidden mode until you reactivate it by logging back in. 

Take note that you can only temporarily deactivate your Instagram account once a week – so if you’re craving to reactivate it, remember the next time you can repeat the same steps would be a sevendays later. Also, for Android device users, do note that you can only temporarily deactivate your Instagram account from a computer, a mobile browser, or the Instagram app for iPhone. Lastly, you have to first login to your Instagram account before you can temporarily deactivate it. 

Here’s how to do it from your mobile browser at www.instagram.com:

  1. Log into instagram.com from a mobile browser.
  2. Tap your profile picture in the bottom right and tap Profile, then tap Edit Profile.
  3. Scroll down, then tap Temporarily deactivate my account in the bottom right.
  4. Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you deactivating your account? and re-enter your password. The option to deactivate your account will only appear after you’ve selected a reason from the menu and entered your password.
  5. Tap Temporarily Deactivate Account. Tap Yes to confirm or No to cancel.

This is how to do it from your iPhone on the Instagram app:

  1. Tap on the account icon profile or your profile picture in the bottom right of your app account to go to your profile.
  2. Tap the burger icon more options in the top right, then tap settingson Settings button.
  3. Tap Account, then tap Delete account at the bottom.
  4. Tap Deactivate account then select an option from the drop-down menu below Why are you deactivating your account?
  5. Re-enter the password for your account. The option to deactivate your account will only appear after you’ve selected a reason from the menu and entered your password.
  6. Tap Temporarily Deactivate Account.

How to permanently delete Instagram 

person holding black android smartphonesource

If you have made the commitment to permanently live your life free from the lure of feeding your precious life moments on Instagram, you can also permanently delete your Instagram account. When you delete your Instagram account for good, you are essentially permanently removing your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers. 

If you wish to return to the world of Instagram again after permanently deleting your Instagram, you can try signing up again with the same username or add that username to another account (as long as someone hasn’t used your username in the time you were gone from Instagram). If your username has already been taken up, you would have to sign up for a new username. 

Also remember that if your account is removed (or “disabled”) because you violated Instagram’s Community Guidelines, you will need to create a brand new account when you decide to return. 

How to delete Instagram account on iPhone

If you’re an iPhone user, you will need to be logged in to your Instagram account in order to request for deletion. Before deleting your account, if you want to retain everything you’ve shared on your account like your photos and videos, it is suggested that you may download a copy of your information from Instagram. If you did not download your information, be warned that you will never be able to find a trace of it after 30 days. 

Here are the steps to delete your Instagram account via the app on iPhone:

  1. Tap your profile picture in the bottom right of your app account to go to your profile.
  2. Tap on the burger icon more options in the top right, then tap on thesettingsSettings button.
  3. Tap Account, then tap Delete account at the bottom.
  4. Tap Delete account then tap Continue deleting account.
  5. Select an option from the drop-down menu below Why do you want to delete [account name]? and re-enter your password. The option to permanently delete your account will only appear after you’ve selected a reason from the menu and entered your password.
  6. Tap Delete [username] then tap OK to confirm.

How to delete Instagram account on Android 

If you are an Android device user, you can also make a clean exit from Instagram but using slightly different methods. You can only make a deletion request from your computer or your mobile browser

Here are steps to permanently delete your account via your computer at www.instagram.com (do remember to log in first):

  1. Go to the Delete Your Account page. If you’re not logged into Instagram on the web, you’ll be asked to log in first.
  2. Select an option from the dropdown menu below Why do you want to delete [account name]? and re-enter your password. The option to permanently delete your account will only appear after you’ve selected a reason from the menu and entered your password.
  3. Click Delete [username].

If you want to delete a different account:

  1. Click the username in the top-right of the Delete Your Account page.
  2. Click on the settings icon next to Edit profile and select Log out.
  3. Log back in as the account you want to delete and follow the directions above.

There you have it, you and Instagram are never ever ever, getting back together! Well, nothing lasts forever – even Instagram had its heyday. 

Remove Instagram from your habitual swipe up and take the freed up time to do things that really matter. 

For further information, Instagram’s website provides clear steps on the how, and includes FAQs on many other scenarios that involve deletion of Instagram accounts.

Get ready for a new chapter with 5G connection and M1 SIM Only plans 

white Android smartphonesource

Nothing better than walking away from a breakup than finding new, productive ways to spend your time. With an M1 True 5G connection, 10x faster than existing 4G networks, you can either listen to a podcast or learn a new language. Tap onto M1’s True 5G network by activating it today. 

Not yet an M1 subscriber? Sign up for M1’s SIM Only plans for just $19.95 for 100GB or $17.95 for 80GB. For a limited time, get $15 off your first month when you sign up with the code mpowered15 – check it out now!

spot_img

Be mPOWERED

spot_img

STAY mPOWERED

0FansLike
0FollowersFollow

Be mPOWERED

spot_img